top of page

January Game 2: Aaron vs. Jason


AARON

So, the list I choose was sub optimal for the opponent I was facing. I had a lot of bodies on the ground with good range weaponry, but no way of getting them up the board. We deployed with the "Hammer and Anvil" set up and that left a lot of my bolt rifles and hell blasters out of range till turn two.



I deployed with units spread across my back lines to stop deep strikers. And my infiltrators and Phobos Captain helped by making the range 12" on deep strikes. I lost my Baal Predator turn one and that was a killer blow. After that I was systematically removed with out recovering from my losses.



JASON


Army Selection


The main idea behind the list is an all-round army. Using the "Cult of the Four Armed Emperor" with "Broodcoven" allows me to take two combat warlord traits and "Inscrutable Cunning" means with an extra d3 command points Broodcoven is free. A brigade gives me loads of CPs to allow for 2nd turn ambush tactics. There are plenty of bodies to protect the cult bosses.



Debrief


The "Hammer & Anvil" deployment was Aaron’s idea and I think it helped me more than him as there seemed to be a lack of long ranged anti tank weaponry in his army.


As he was well aware of my cult ambush ability he was also forced to leave his back line protected.



At crucial points of the game Aaron’s plan was thwarted by his own dice rolling. Probably the most telling thinks was me getting first turn and destroying his Predator. It gave my army heavy weapon superiority and it helped when getting rid of his front line troops.



Most enjoyable moment for me was when the Hellblaster sergeant was compelled to shoot and kill his two squadmates. It would have made for an uncomfortable ride home had any of them survived

FINAL SCORE: Jason 16 - Aaron 3

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page